Mulago was derived from the word “omulago”, a type of medicine, kept on this hill, that was used by King Suna II for protection against spirits.
The landmark on this 4,134 feet hill is Mulago Hospital. Built in 1917, Old Mulago merged with the New Mulago Hospital in 1960 to form a giant complex that is the national referral hospital. The complex also houses Makerere University Medical School.
At the lower end of the hill about a kilometer from the hospital are the National Museum and headquarters of the Uganda Wildlife Authority at Kamwokya. The new British High Commission office is also located here.
The hill is, however, dominated by hospital related activities that include a Doctor’s Village, research laboratories and pharmacies.
There is, however, a small residential area overlooking the museum and a vibrant market at Kamwokya.